Home › Law of Torts › Om Prakash v. Reliance General Insurance Co. Ltd.
Om Prakash v. Reliance General Insurance Co. Ltd.
Civil Appeal No. 15611 of 2017 (arising out of SLP (C) No. 742 of 2015); (2017) 9 SCC 724 (user-supplied, not in the judgment text)
Court
Supreme Court of India
Bench
R.K. Agrawal and S. Abdul Nazeer, JJ. (judgment delivered by Nazeer, J.)
Year
2017 (decided 4 October 2017)
A truck owner spent days with the police searching for his stolen truck. He then reported the theft to his insurer eight days after it happened. The insurer rejected the claim for delay, although its own investigator had confirmed the theft.
Quick Revision
Facts: a truck was stolen on 23.03.2010. The owner claimed on the policy after 8 days. The insurer rejected the claim under Condition No. 1 (immediate notice).
Issue: can a genuine theft claim be rejected only because notice was not given immediately, when the delay is explained?
Holding: no. A delay that is satisfactorily explained is not a ground to reject a genuine claim verified by the Investigator.
Key provisions: Condition No. 1 of the policy; Section 12, Consumer Protection Act, 1986; Section 379 IPC.
Biggest exam trap: the Court did not say notice is optional. The owner must still inform the insurer immediately, but the condition cannot defeat a genuine claim.
Relief: Rs. 8,35,000 with 8% interest within 8 weeks. No order as to costs.
Parties
Om Prakash — appellant; owner of truck No. HR-21-F-0462. He lives in Muzadnagar village, Tehsil Hansi, District Hissar, Haryana.
Reliance General Insurance Company Ltd. — respondent No. 1; the insurer of the truck.
Respondent No. 2 — the judgment names only "ANR." for the second respondent. It does not give the name or role. The Court's order for payment is against respondents 1 and 2.
Procedural History
District Forum, Hissar. The appellant complained under Section 12 of the Consumer Protection Act, 1986 (para 4). The District Forum (the first-level consumer body) dismissed the complaint by order dated 13.06.2013. It held there was no deficiency of service (a fault or shortcoming in a service) by the respondents (para 4).
State Commission, Haryana (Panchkula). The appellant appealed. The State Commission dismissed the appeal by order dated 23.10.2013 (para 5).
National Commission. The appellant filed a revision petition. The National Commission dismissed it by order dated 12.02.2014 (para 5).
Supreme Court. The appellant challenged the National Commission's order in Civil Appeal No. 15611 of 2017, arising out of SLP (C) No. 742 of 2015 (para 5). Delay was condoned and leave was granted (para 1).
Facts
The appellant insured his truck, Registration No. HR-21-F-0462, with Reliance General Insurance Company Ltd. The policy ran from 10.03.2010 to 09.03.2011 (para 2).
The truck was stolen from Chopanki, Bhiwari, Rajasthan on 23.03.2010 at about 9:00 p.m. (para 2).
An FIR was lodged on 24.03.2010 at Police Station Tapkura, District Alwar, Rajasthan, under Section 379 IPC (para 2).
The appellant visited the first respondent's office, but it was closed. He then went to the place of theft and met the driver and the concerned police official (para 2).
On 29.03.2010 the appellant and the driver went with the police to search for the truck. The appellant reached his village on 30.03.2010 (para 2).
The driver, Dinesh, filed an affidavit before the District Forum. It said the owner had reached the place of theft and met him and the police official (para 9).
The affidavit said the police asked them to stay and help trace the truck, and to collect the truck's documents. They visited many places in Rajasthan with the police. The police forced the appellant to go with them (para 9).
The appellant filed a similar affidavit before the State Commission explaining the delay in informing the insurer (para 9).
The appellant lodged the insurance claim with the respondent at Hissar and gave the documents demanded. Paragraph 2 gives the date as 31.10.2010. Paragraphs 6 and 9 give it as 31.03.2010 (paras 2, 6, 9). The Court treats the delay as 8 days (para 12).
The insurer appointed an Investigator. After verification, the Investigator confirmed the theft (para 3).
The Corporate Claims Manager approved Rs. 7,85,000 for the claim (para 3).
The appellant made several requests for speedy processing of the claim. He served a legal notice dated 09.08.2011 (para 3).
The insurer then repudiated (rejected) the claim. It cited breach of Condition No. 1, which requires immediate information about the loss or theft of the vehicle (para 3).
The appellant sought payment of the claim with interest at 18% per annum and compensation of Rs. 1,00,000 (para 4). The respondents filed a written statement opposing the claim (para 4).
Issues Raised
The judgment does not list issues separately. The questions the Court decided are these:
Could the insurer reject the theft claim for breach of Condition No. 1, because the claim was made 8 days after the theft (paras 7, 10-12)?
Is a delay in giving notice fatal to a claim when the reason for the delay is satisfactorily explained (para 11)?
Could the claim be rejected when the Investigator had verified it as genuine and the Corporate Claims Manager had approved payment (paras 11-12)?
Was the National Commission justified in rejecting the claim without considering the explanation for the delay (para 12)?
Is the appellant entitled to compensation and to what relief (paras 12-13)?
Arguments Contended
For the appellant (Om Prakash): the reported judgment records these submissions of his counsel (para 6).
He went to the place of theft and met the police officials with the truck driver as soon as he learned of the theft (para 6).
He was busy with the police, visiting many cities in Rajasthan to search for the truck. He returned to his village on 30.03.2010 and lodged the claim on 31.03.2010 (para 6).
He gave strong reasons for the delay of 8 days in lodging the complaint (para 6).
The National Commission dismissed his petition without considering the reasons given for the delay (para 6).
The Investigator verified the theft. The Corporate Claims Manager approved the report and recommended payment of Rs. 7,85,000 (para 6).
For the respondents (Reliance General Insurance and the second respondent): the judgment records these submissions (para 7).
Under Condition No. 1 of the policy, information of theft had to be given to the company immediately after the theft (para 7).
The claim was filed after a delay of 8 days from the theft (para 7).
In these circumstances the National Commission was justified in rejecting the revision petition (para 7).
The judgment records no authorities relied on by either side.
Court's Reasoning
The judgment is a single opinion by S. Abdul Nazeer, J., signed also by R.K. Agrawal, J. Paragraph numbers follow the judgment.
Justice S. Abdul Nazeer (for the Bench)
Noted: the Court considered the submissions of counsel and the materials on record (para 8).
Noted: the appellant is a resident of Muzadnagar village, Tehsil Hansi, District Hissar, Haryana. The theft took place on 23.03.2010 at Chopanki, Bhiwari, Rajasthan. The FIR was lodged at P.S. Tapukra, District Alwar, on 24.03.2010. The claim was filed on 31.03.2010 (para 9).
Noted: the driver's affidavit before the District Forum said the owner reached the place of theft. The police asked them to stay, collect the truck's documents and help trace the truck. They visited many places in Rajasthan. The police forced the appellant to accompany them (para 9).
Noted: the appellant went back on 29.03.2010 and reached his village on 30.03.2010. He filed a similar affidavit before the State Commission explaining the delay (para 9).
Noted: Condition No. 1 says notice shall be given in writing to the company immediately on any accidental loss or damage in the event of a claim. The insured must then give all information and assistance the company may require (para 10).
Noted: it is common knowledge that a person who loses his vehicle may not go straight to the insurer. At first he will make efforts to trace the vehicle (para 11).
Noted: the owner has to inform the insurer immediately after the theft (para 11).
Held: this condition should not bar settlement of genuine claims, particularly when the delay in giving notice or in submitting documents is due to unavoidable circumstances (para 11).
Held: the insurer's decision to reject a claim has to be based on valid grounds (para 11).
Why: the Court said "Rejection of the claims on purely technical grounds in a mechanical manner will result in loss of confidence of policy-holders in the insurance industry." In plain words, mechanical rejection on technicalities damages public trust in insurance (para 11).
Held: if the reason for delay in making a claim is satisfactorily explained, the claim cannot be rejected on the ground of delay (para 11).
Held: it would not be fair and reasonable to reject genuine claims that the Investigator has already verified and found correct (para 11).
Held: "The condition regarding the delay shall not be a shelter to repudiate the insurance claims which have been otherwise proved to be genuine." In plain words, the delay condition cannot protect the insurer from a genuine claim (para 11).
Noted: the Consumer Protection Act aims at better protection of the interests of consumers (persons who buy goods or services). It is beneficial legislation (a law made to help a class of people) that deserves liberal construction. This aim should not be forgotten when deciding claims made under the Act (para 11).
Held: the appellant gave strong reasons for the delay of 8 days in informing the respondent (para 12).
Held: the Investigator verified the theft as genuine. The approval of Rs. 7,85,000 by the Corporate Claims Manager was, in the Court's opinion, just and proper (para 12).
Held: the National Commission was not justified in rejecting the claim without considering the explanation for the delay (para 12).
Held: the claimant is also entitled to Rs. 50,000 as compensation (para 12).
Held: the appeal is allowed, and the orders of the National Commission, State Commission and District Forum are set aside (para 13).
Authorities
The judgment cites no decided case. It relies only on the terms of the policy and the Consumer Protection Act, 1986 (paras 10-11).
Provisions mentioned
Condition No. 1 of the Insurance Policy: notice must be given in writing to the company immediately on any accidental loss or damage. The insured must then give all information and assistance the company requires (para 10). The insurer relied on it to repudiate the claim (para 3).
Section 12, Consumer Protection Act, 1986: the section under which the appellant filed his complaint before the District Forum (para 4).
Consumer Protection Act, 1986 (general): beneficial legislation that aims at better protection of consumers and deserves liberal construction (para 11).
Section 379 IPC: the section under which the FIR for the theft was lodged (para 2).
Judgement
The appeal is allowed. The orders of the National Commission, State Commission and District Forum are set aside. The claim petition filed by the appellant is allowed (para 13).
Respondents 1 and 2 must pay Rs. 8,35,000 to the appellant. This is the Rs. 7,85,000 claim plus Rs. 50,000 compensation (paras 12-13).
Interest is payable at 8% per annum from the date of filing of the claim petition till the date of payment (para 13).
The payment must be made within 8 weeks from 4 October 2017, the date of the judgment (para 13).
There is no order as to costs (para 14).
The judgment records "Delay condoned. Leave granted." at its start (para 1).
Legal Principle / Ratio
An insurer cannot reject a genuine claim only because notice was not given immediately, if the delay is satisfactorily explained. The insured must still inform the insurer immediately, but the condition is not a shelter to defeat claims that are otherwise genuine.
Key holding: "The condition regarding the delay shall not be a shelter to repudiate the insurance claims which have been otherwise proved to be genuine." (para 11)
Critical Analysis
Analysis based on the judgment text.
The judgment gives no test for when an explanation is "satisfactory". It applies the idea to the facts of an 8-day delay (paras 11-12).
The claim date appears as 31.10.2010 in para 2 and as 31.03.2010 in paras 6 and 9. The Court's own reasoning proceeds on an 8-day delay (para 12).
The judgment does not name the second respondent. Yet it directs both respondents to pay (para 13).
The judgment cites no earlier decision. The principle rests on the policy wording, the Investigator's report and the aim of the Consumer Protection Act (paras 10-12).
Significance
The Court held that a delay condition cannot defeat a claim the insurer's own Investigator verified as genuine (paras 11-12).
It links insurance claims to the consumer-protection aim of liberal construction (para 11).
It warns that mechanical, technical rejection erodes policy-holders' confidence in insurance (para 11).
Exam-Important Points
Rule: a satisfactorily explained delay in giving notice is not a ground to reject a genuine claim (para 11). Trap: the owner must still inform the insurer immediately.
Rule: the insurer's rejection must rest on valid grounds, not purely technical ones applied mechanically (para 11). Trap: the case is not a general ban on rejecting claims.
Rule: a claim verified by the Investigator and approved by the Corporate Claims Manager cannot be repudiated only for delay (paras 11-12).
Rule: the Consumer Protection Act is beneficial legislation that deserves liberal construction (para 11).
Numbers: theft on 23.03.2010; FIR on 24.03.2010; 8-day delay; Rs. 7,85,000 claim plus Rs. 50,000 compensation equals Rs. 8,35,000; interest 8%; 8 weeks (paras 2, 12, 13).
Path of the case: District Forum (13.06.2013), State Commission (23.10.2013), National Commission (12.02.2014), then the Supreme Court (paras 4-5).
Prepared from the full text of the judgment. Paragraph numbers follow the official Supreme Court judgment text; law reports may number the same paragraph differently.